Chapter 2.6 – No Smoke Without Fire

“Baby.”

“Yes Kitty Boo, your baby cousin is in here,” Bella replied to her little niece giggling on the floor.

April came over and picked her daughter up swinging her onto her hip and hugging her closely.  “Who’s my clever girl saying baby, I’m so proud of you.”

Bella stood by watching the exchange between mother and child.  She could not believe how happy her sister was since Kitty had arrived.  “I can’t believe how big she is getting,” Bella commented.  “It feels like yesterday she was born and now she’s talking!”

“I can’t believe how big you’re getting,” April replied with a chuckle.

“I know,” Bella said stroking her belly.  “Only six weeks left to go and then this little fella will be here.  To be honest April I’m pretty terrified.  How do I know if I’m really ready for a baby?”

“No one’s ever really ready for a baby,” April replied laughing at her sister. “But believe me Bel, they are absolutely worth it.  Me and Sissy could not imagine life without Kitty Boo.”

Just then, Charlie came bursting through the front door and dropped his briefcase onto the floor with a dramatic thud.  “Honey, I’m home,” he sung theatrically.  Bella tutted, he had been doing this every day since they had married.

Charlie dashed over to Bella and pulled her into him.  “Hello Mrs Starr.”

“Hello Mr Starr,” she replied letting him kiss her tenderly.

“Aww you guys,” April cooed.

Bella was not embarrassed by Charlie’s overly displays of affection. She just loved being in Charlie’s arms as much as possible.  “I love you,” she whispered and he mouthed the words back to her giving her hand a tight squeeze.

Even though Bella was nearing her due date, she still worked every day on her paintings and photography and visited the Gallery almost every evening to check on her sales and hang new works of art. 

“Owww,” she complained massaging her back with her finger tips and trying to stretch forward.  The last few weeks of pregnancy had been tough on her and her back was killing.

She decided to call it a night and called Charlie to let him know she was on her way home.  “Hey darling, I’m going to be leaving in about 10 minutes.  What you up to?”

“I’m so pleased you’re coming home, you know how I hate you working so late in your condition.  I’m just in the kitchen cooking dinner for us.”

“Cooking dinner,” Bella exclaimed, Charlie never cooked!

“I sure am!  Stew Surprise.  Your mums already gone to bed so it will just be you and I and I thought I would surprise you.”

“Well, be careful,” Bella giggled.  “Last time you cooked you nearly set the house on fire.”

“Charming!  I only burnt the food. I promise it will be wonderful.  See you soon darling.”

“Can’t wait to try it.  See you soon,” Bella replied hanging up the phone and laughing at her husband.  She was not sure she was looking forward to this meal.

She cleared up her work space and headed home.  She sang along to the radio as she drove through Bridgeport City centre, over the bridge and up into the hills. As she rose higher and higher the air got denser and she saw smoke in the distance.  Not thinking much of it she continued to drive until her house came into view.  Fire Engines were parked on the verge outside her house and the smoke she saw in the sky was emanating from her roof. Her house was on fire!

Captured in a blind panic, Bella pulled her car to the side and jumped out.  Looking up at her home engulfed in flames she stood still in shock, her hands over her mouth stifling her screams.

“Bella, Bella.” She heard her name being called but she was too stunned to turn around. “Bella,” came her sister’s voice again.

Bella finally looked up to see April’s face peering back at her. She was dressed in her fireman’s uniform and had black smog streaked across her.  “Bella are you ok,” April said again.

“Yes I’m fine.  What happened?”

“I don’t know, we’ve only just got here.  My colleagues are trying to put the fire out now. They thought it would be best if I stayed outside.”

“Mum,” Bella suddenly shrieked. “Where’s mum?”

“It’s ok,” April replied.  “She’s ok.  She got out. Look.” Bella looked in the direction April was pointing and could see her mother in her dressing gown standing on the road side, safe.

Then another thought ran through Bella’s head.  “April, where’s Charlie?”

April stayed silent and looked at the ground.

“April, tell me! WHERE’S CHARLIE,” Bella screamed feeling herself becoming hysterical.

“We don’t know,” April finally admitted.  “He ran back inside to find mum not knowing she had already gotten herself out.  No one has seen him since.  But they are looking Bella.  I promise they are going to find him.”

Bella couldn’t breathe. She felt like the smoke was suddenly suffocating her and someone was strangling her all at the same time.  She chocked on some far away tears and eventually heard herself screaming Charlie’s name.

April did not know what to do.  “Mum, mum,” she called out.  Allie looked over at April and spotting Bella sped over to her daughter’s side.

She clasped hold of Bella and let her sobbing frame fall against her. “It’s ok darling,” she soothed.  “Everything will be ok. But you need to calm down and we need to move away from this smoke, it’s bad for the baby.”

“I’m not going anywhere without Charlie,” Bella howled sobbing uncontrollably.

“We have to go Bella darling.  Its dangerous being this close.  Please come with us,” Allie begged clasping hold of Bella’s shoulders.  “April will find Charlie won’t you April.”

“Of course we will,” April stuttered.

“I’m not going anywhere without Charlie,” Bella yelled at her mother again.  “Arrrhhhhhh,” she suddenly screamed out clutching her belly.  “Arrrrhhhhh,” she screamed again.

“The baby’s coming,” April shrieked.

“No no,” Bella spat out between crippling contractions. “He can’t.  It’s too early.”  Just then, her waters broke.

“We need some help over here,” Allie screamed to one of the firemen.

“Leave me alone. I’m not going anywhere without Charlie,” Bella screamed one more time before the next contraction shot through her like a bullet and she had no choice but to let the fireman carry her to their truck to take her to the hospital.

A few hours later after the fire was finally put out and she had gone through the debris, April arrived at the hospital to see her sister.  She walked past her stricken mother in the corridor getting herself a coffee and entered Bella’s private room.

Bella was sitting in the corner of the room in a nursing chair looking like a ghost. She was clutching hold of one baby, while its twin slept soundly in the crib nearby.  April leant into the crib and looked the baby in his eyes.  “He’s beautiful Bella,” she said.  “They both are.  Who knew you were having twins eh?”

Bella did not respond.  She just looked straight ahead and asked, “Did you find Charlie?”

April braced herself and took a deep breath.  “I’m so so sorry Bella.  But he didn’t make it.”

Bella did not make a sound but a fresh supply of tears filled her eyes and dribbled down her cheeks falling onto her new born babies face.  She looked into his eyes and saw Charlie.  She had not lost him after all.  He was still here but in the faces of her son’s, immortalised forever.  Then why did it have to hurt so much?


This entry was posted in Generation Two. Bookmark the permalink.

91 Responses to Chapter 2.6 – No Smoke Without Fire

  1. omg:( i almost start crying:( RIP Charlie:(

  2. BAAAAAAAAA! says:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO D:
    Not charlie 😦
    Great but sad chapter 😥

  3. Amy6 says:

    Aww I started crying, Charlie was so perfect..

  4. Miss Harlequin says:

    Reaction: YES! NEW CHAPTER! 😀
    WHAT? CHARLIE! NOOO! D’:

  5. slowpokesims says:

    nooo not charlie!!! 😦

    great chapter, by the way.
    all of them are.

  6. Vampirehuntress says:

    Ahh noooo not Charlie I am going to miss that wonderful guy

  7. Saquina says:

    Oh, that’s sad!!! :((

  8. Jeremy says:

    ohmygod 😦
    not Charlie :O
    :c

  9. Slushie says:

    Woah! I didn’t see that one coming! Poor Bella… she finally married the one she loved and now he’s gone… 😦

  10. dinkyjen says:

    OMG! That was so gripping!

    It was really sad about Charlie, after all that they went through to get together.

    😦 Sad

  11. Esmée says:

    MYGOSHHHHHH

    no words.

    maybe later

    😦

  12. Radke Legacy says:

    NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Esther says:

    NOOOO! Why did you kill him of? WHY? He was great, he was my favourite…. 😦 *sobs*

  14. kama674 says:

    😦

    Poor Charlie and Bella.

  15. zimmya says:

    WHHHYYYYY????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CHARLIE WAS SOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!! WHYY???? Cute babies though, what are the names? CALL ONE CHARLIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Beckey says:

    NNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOO! Not Charlie that we’ve waited soooooooo long for! Why can’t Bella just get a break??? 😦 😦 😦

  17. sundancer16 says:

    Wow. I totally didn’t see that coming. I feel very bad for Bella and her two children who will grow up without their daddy. I don’t suppose Joey will take her back now. He’s probably bitter and angry about her choosing Charlie over him. I’d be REALLY surprised if they got back together.

  18. funnyfuzzy96 says:

    Nnnnnnnnooooooo!!!!!! I feel sorry for Charlie but i feel more sorry for Bella. She is the one who has to live with out him.

  19. STARZ says:

    WHY SARAH! SARAHH! SARAH! SARAH! SARAH!
    WHY DID YOU HAVE TO KILL CHARLIE!
    You have now ruined my day 😦
    You Couldve made like idk SOMEONE THATS NOT CHARLIE!
    I hate you know . 😦
    No only joking 🙂
    But seriously your a meanie 😦
    x Much Love x STARZ

  20. dorkney says:

    No Charlie!! I almost started crying. I think Carter and little Charlie will look like their dad. 😦

  21. Emy says:

    Oh. D: That’s really sad!! Poor Charlie. Poor Bella. 😦

  22. swimswam16 says:

    thats so sad. i never saw that one coming, i hope she doesn’t pull a Gabriel on us and not care for her kids.

  23. Glacia says:

    NO!!!!!! As soon as I saw Charlie wasn’t there during the fire, I knew where this was going. I was hoping to be proved wrong but I guess not! WHY SARAH??????????? WHYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. As sad as this chapter was, I think it was really clever of you when Bella said on the phone ‘Last time you cooked you nearly set the house on fire’ and then that’s what happened.

    Still, NO, NOT CHARLIE! Bella was finally happy! 😦

  25. Dahlia says:

    CHARLIE!!!!!
    he was my favorite of all your sims in the starr legacy 😦
    Yes but it was a great twist, you have to admit

  26. Lindsey says:

    😦 Poor Charlie, right when I was starting to like him!

  27. lindseypie says:

    😦 I hope Bella doesn’t just shut down after charlie is gone.
    Poor Bella. 😦

    -Lindseypie

    http://fordlegacy.wordpress.com/

  28. karly says:

    NOOOO! 😥 *sobs* not charlie!!! he never even got to meet his sons! 😦 aww, how will Bella survive?!?!

  29. THEY JUST GOT TOGETHER. </3 😥

  30. risastorm says:

    awwwwwwwwwwww :’c that is so sad! poor poor Bella :c

    • risastorm says:

      That has never happened to my sims house it never spreads everywhere like that.. *knocks on wood* I shouldn’t jinx myself, last time I said something like that, about the meteor, and then ya.. x.x lol

  31. rockit4 says:

    NOOOOO!!!!!! D’:

  32. antsims3 says:

    Amazing chapter! Even though Charlie was a good man to Bella, it adds a new twist to the story. I thought they would have that perfect life, but sadly, he’s dead. I can’t wait to see the twins grow up and I hope Bella can make it through. 😀

    New chapter up on my blog! http://halliwellfamilylegacy.wordpress.com

  33. hannahthesimmingfool says:

    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! 😥 😥 😥 Not Charlieeeeeee! 😥 😥 😥
    She is sooooo not gonna be too good a mom in the next few chapters, I can tell… especially since “She looked into his eyes and saw Charlie”
    Look what happened with Gabriel when Nichole died!

  34. HoneyBear says:

    Awh, and just when Charlie was starting to grow on me. 😦 Poor Bella. I hope everything goes well from here on. She should stay strong for her boys. Was this fire created on purpose for the story or was it accidental and just written in? Just wondering.

  35. wellslegacy says:

    Tearing up over a bowl of cheerios when I read this :c Oh my, poor Charlie. Gosh, Poor Bella too! x_x and her sons may look like Charlie too x_x That’s almost like a constant reminder of him, sure it’s nice to remember but then you realize he’s not there :c aww. Aside from the sad stuff, great update.

  36. snapcarolina says:

    </3
    Ahh well, I didn't like him.
    But I doubt Joey'll take her back now…

  37. sydney511 says:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! RESURRECT HIM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SOMETHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BRING HIM BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  38. Brogan says:

    Oh my heck.

  39. vampsimsx says:

    Charlie…. </3
    Poor Bella. They were perfect for each other. 😦

  40. billy says:

    Sarah it may be devastating to me about Charlie but every reponse to this chapter just prove how strong of a writer u are 🙂 R.I.P. Charlie :_( BTW i though you skipped the baby stage?

    P.S. ever been though a flood we had 1 fri night when i started high

  41. Thea says:

    Raising twins without Charlie 😥 At least she has her family but 😦

  42. Becci says:

    ………………after ALLLLLLLL they’ve been through :/
    I am very sad, he was my absolute favourite, it was even sadder then Nicole’s sudden death 😦
    Finally I wanted to see them married.. but as always you have written a very compelling story well done.
    xxBecci

  43. Just caught up with this, and my god you sure are talented. Not only is your writing fantastic, but you have a wonderful pictures. I can’t wait to read more of this.
    And I’ve very upset to see Charlie die! When I read the title, I knew someone was going to die. =[

  44. Poodle says:

    WHAT!?
    *imagine me shrieking at the top of my lungs here*
    i started yelling no and my parents came running like WHATS WRONG and i was like CHARLIEEEEEEE DIIIIEEEDDDDD and they looked at me like wtf?

  45. Evelien says:

    Noooooooooooo not Charlie 😥 Now he’ll never meet his sons 😦 Poor, poor Bella 😥

  46. Sims3Luver says:

    noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  47. Jillian says:

    Nooo =[ This was my favorite relationship pretty much ever. RIP Charlie.

    – Jill
    http://wallacelegacy.wordpress.com

  48. 😦 😦 😦 😦 nooo, i loved charlie awww. he will be greatly missed and he didn’t even get the chance to meet his sons (ahh twins!).

  49. madismith67 says:

    HOW FREAKING DARE YOU!!! I refuse to read any more. (;

  50. kara says:

    rest in peace, sexy nerd. 😥
    ’nuff said.

    but how did you get the fire to spread? usually when the fire starts and the smoke alarm catches it, the firemen come right away and there’s no time for it to spread. :/ i’m confuzzled. tell me your strategies! hehe.(:

    love the legacy, as alwaysss.(:
    i just knew something bad had to happen sometime soon. <|3

  51. :O
    Gah! I just got caught up and read from the start! When I saw you had a new chapter I was all, “Yes! New chapter! Wait. Woah woah fire? Baby??? CHARLIE!!!!! OH NOEZ!!!” 😦 Charlie was growing on me too. *Sob*

  52. 14heartgirl says:

    No!!! D: (tear slides down my dry cheek.) I fell inlove with charlie, he was so perfect ( even with he’s nerdy glasses). And he risked he’s life for hers mother-in-law. I will trully miss him in Bella’s life. : ‘ (

  53. singer14 says:

    No, no, no, no, NO!!! WHY did you do that to us?! WHY??? Especially after tesing us so much and making us love Charlie… GOD, I hate you right now…… BUT I MUST READ MORE!!!! 🙂

  54. nightrain17 says:

    Oh my gosh! Poor poor Charlie, he was amazing. Poor Bella how could he die like that 😦

  55. i can not look at Charlie without crying still. the boys are all grown up and i still cry over Charlie. i hate when young people die before there time

  56. singer14 says:

    NOOOOOOOO!

    Diiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie random stranger Sarah person!!!!!!!

    Just kidding, BUT STILL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you were a sim you would have a hidden evil trait. -.-

    “DEATH!!!! DEATH AND DISPARE!!! I CURSE YOU!!!!”
    – Venus, from The Venus York Chronicals

  57. bananablitzz says:

    wait, hes dead? hes…dead? wait. so…hes dead? hes dead? hes DEAD??? WHAT. no. hes NOT dead. hes NOT dead. HES NOT DEAD. HES NOT DEAD!!! or…hes dead? no. he cant be dead. he CANT BE DEAD!!!!!! NOOOOOOO HES DEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

    wonderful chapter 🙂

    AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH YD HE HAVE TO DIE????!?!?!?!?! bella should cook the meals next time 😉
    rip charlie…x

    • singer14 says:

      She CAN only cook next time. Charlie *sniffle* isn’t around to- *sob* – burn down- *whimper* the house ANYMOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRE!!!!!!!!

  58. Gretchen says:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!! NONONONONONNO NNOT CHARLIE

  59. cece says:

    awwww, now i am crying! 😥 RIP charlie, he never met his children, thats so sad!

  60. singer14 says:

    I am revisiting this chapter for the 9238474657586901375783th time and still crying.

  61. Angela says:

    WHY DOES EVERYONE I LOVE DIES? -Repeats Bella’s Words from chapter 2.8-

    You made my heart sank.. It HURTS dontcha know?

    Great Story BTW 🙂

  62. Deanna says:

    How’d you get the fire that bad?

  63. CerealMonster says:

    NO!! I loved that guy!

Leave a Reply

